Inside Beethoven – Das begehbare Ensemble

Exhibition

Find out what it sounds like to be part of an orchestra. The walk-in sound exhibition “Inside Beethoven!” combines the latest musicological research with modern sound engineering to create a spectacular experience of being right inside the music – a perspective which is normally a closed book for the public and reserved for the musicians themselves.

You are invited to walk between the digital music stands and put yourself in the musicians’ shoes – an unusual, enriching experience for amateurs and professionals alike. This will shed light on the music itself, its polyphonic structure, the part played by each individual instrument, its contribution to the overall sound and its significance in the music as a whole.

Photo: Simon Waloschek

Visitors will hear Ludwig van Beethoven’s Septet in E flat major op. 20, both the version for winds and strings and Beethoven’s own trio arrangement for piano, clarinet and cello. Each individual part and the changes made for the trio arrangement can be followed at digital music stands as the music plays.

“Inside Beethoven!” is an innovative joint project which was realized at Detmold University of Music in commemoration of Beethoven’s 250th birthday. The exhibition will be touring Germany and Austria during 2020 and 2021.

The installation can be experienced at Haus der Musik from November 11th, 2020.

Information for your visit

We have developed a protection and hygiene concept to make your visit to the exhibition as safe as possible during the coronavirus pandemic. Please take note of the following when you visit:

  • Visitors may only enter the installation one at a time
  • Keep a distance of at least 1.5 to 2 metres between yourself and other people
  • Pay attention to the general rules of hygiene (appropriate behaviour when coughing and sneezing)
  • Do not come to the exhibition if you feel ill.

Accessibility

Barrier-free access to the exhibition is available.

A project in cooperation with

Inside Beethoven – Das begehbare Ensemble

Die Ausstellung

Erfahren Sie, wie es klingt, Teil eines Orchesters zu sein. Die begehbare Klangausstellung „Inside Beethoven!“ kombiniert neuste Erkenntnisse der Musikwissenschaft mit der modernen Musikedition zu einem spektakulären Mittendrin-Erlebnis – eine Perspektive, die dem Publikum sonst verborgen und nur den Musiker*innen selbst vorbehalten bleibt.

Sie sind eingeladen, sich zwischen den digitalen Notenpulten zu bewegen und die Position der Musiker*innen einzunehmen – sowohl für Laien als auch für Profis eine ungewohnte und bereichernde Erfahrung. Die Musik, ihre polyphone Struktur, das Spiel jedes einzelnen Instrumentes, sein Beitrag zum Gesamtklang und seine Gewichtung im Musikganzen werden transparent.

Ausschnitt aus der Ausstellung „Inside Beethoven” Foto: Simon Waloschek

Zu hören ist Ludwig van Beethovens Septett Es-Dur op. 20 sowohl in der Version für Bläser und Streicher als auch in Beethovens eigener Triobearbeitung für Klavier, Klarinette und Cello. Die Noten der einzelnen Stimmen und die Veränderungen in der Triobearbeitung können auf digitalen Pulten parallel mitlaufend nachverfolgt werden.

„Inside Beethoven!“ ist ein innovatives Verbundprojekt, das an der Hochschule für Musik Detmold anlässlich des Beethoven-Jubiläumsjahrs realisiert wurde. Als Wanderausstellung zieht es 2020 und 2021 durch Deutschland und Österreich.

Die Installation ist von 11. November 2020 bis 7. März 2021 im Haus der Musik zu erleben.

Informationen für Ihren Besuch

Um Ihren Besuch der Ausstellung während der Corona-Pandemie so sicher wie möglich zu gestalten, haben wir ein Schutz- und Hygienekonzept umgesetzt. Beachten Sie bitte bei Ihrem Besuch:

  • Betreten Sie die Installation nur einzeln
    Tragen Sie einen Mund-Nasen-Schutz
    Halten Sie Abstand zu anderen Personen von mindestens 1,5 bis 2 Metern
    Beachten Sie die allgemeinen Hygieneregeln (Nies- und Husten-Etikette)
    Kommen Sie nicht zur Ausstellung, wenn Sie sich krank fühlen.

Der Zugang für alle Ausstellungen erfolgt über den Museumseingang.

Barrierefreiheit

Die Ausstellung ist barrierefrei zugänglich.

 

Ein Projekt im Rahmen von